If your ex-wife or ex-husband is pressing domestic violence charges against you, there are many things you must do to ensure that your case is handled fairly. The first thing you should do is seek assistance from skilled legal counsel — our team of lawyers at Vindicate Law has a proven track record of success when it comes to fighting unjust or overblown domestic violence charges after divorce. Check out this list of frequently asked questions that we answered to help our readers better understand how to approach a scenario where their ex-wife is pressing domestic violence charges.

Frequently Asked Questions:

1.   What’s the Best Way to Defend Against an Ex-Wife Suing for Domestic Violence?

To properly defend yourself against allegations of domestic violence coming from your ex-wife, you must establish a strong case for yourself with the help of legal experts. The last thing you want to do is attempt to navigate the complexities of the Washington State Criminal Justice System without a trained professional by your side to provide guidance

2.   Do Courts Treat Domestic Violence Different After Divorce?

Domestic violence after divorce is certainly treated differently than a case that transpires before a couple splits. Depending on the circumstances of a divorce, the legal implications may vary. For example, if someone’s ex-wife cited actions similar to domestic violence as justification for filing for divorce, that will be noted in court proceedings. Simply put, the two legal matters can easily impact one-another.

3.   Will This Charge Stop Me From Seeing My Kids?

This will depend on the specifics of your case and the ultimate outcome after court proceedings. If you are convicted of domestic violence after divorce, you may very well lose custody of the children you had with her. To prevent that from happening, you must build a strong legal defense and prove your innocence with the help of a proven legal team. Vindicate Law can provide the skills and resources you need to defend yourself properly in Washington State Courts.

4.   How Can I Prevent Her From Pressing Charges & Protect Myself?

There’s no way to prevent someone from pressing charges against you — if the allegations are credible, you will have to start building a strong legal defense as soon as you can. If you suspect that your ex-wife is pressing false charges out of spite because of some other nonviolent dispute the two of you had, collect any evidence that you can to help prove it in a court of law. Our seasoned attorneys at Vindicate Law can help you identify ways to produce strong evidence for your defense.

5.   What Happens if I Get Convicted?

Depending on your criminal history and the seriousness of your offense, you may face up to 364 days in jail and up to $5,000. You could even face a Felony Class A, B, or C, in some cases as well. Long story short, you will want to have your charges reduced or dismissed if you feel that they are unjust — for help establishing a strong defense to preclude a conviction, contact the legal experts at Vindicate Law Today.